Home page > Nouvelle rubrique > History > From 1168 to 1306 : The difficulties of Maintaining a Casadeenne (...)

From 1168 to 1306 : The difficulties of Maintaining a Casadeenne Congregation

At the time of Philippe-Auguste (1180-1223) the Auvergne was divided by rivalries between Plantagenets and Capetiens (to whom La Chaise-Dieu Abbey was loyal). The France of Saint Louis (1226-127) and that of Philippe le Bel (1285-1314) witnessed the strengthening of royal power.

In the XIIIth century, the church was preoccupied with, on one hand, the dispute between the Emperor and the Pope, and on the other hand with the organisation of the Crusades. Under the papacy of Innocent III (1198-1216) Saint Francis of Assisi, founder of the Franciscans came to prominence as did Saint Dominique of Guzmann, founder of the Dominicans, who attempted to convert the Albigeois or Cathars.

discover :

La Chaise-Dieu’s dependent churches

Lavaudieu Lavaudieu Monastery was built by Saint Robert himself to house Benedictine monks and it was fully functional until the Revolution.

Saint-Nectaire Saint-Nectaire’s Church was constructed after Saint Robert’s Abbey church but it was intended to be very similar. From its inception it was served by Casadeenne monks, however this connection vanished in the XVIth century.

Brantôme Brantome Abbey, Perigord, was founded in the age of Charlemagne and formed part of the Casadeenne congregation from 1080 until the end of the XVIth century.

Faverney Faverny Abbey, was a very powerful abbey in Franche-Comte which belonged to the Casadeenne congregation from 1132 until 1613, shortly after the famous miracle of the Host.

FrassinoroFrassinoro was linked to La Chaise-Dieu in 1107, the aim being to distance this priory from Imperial claims as it stood on one of the routes linking the Po Valley to Tuscany. However, the Imperial bond was finally formed during the great schism at the end of the XIVth century.

The Ascendancy of worldliness

During this period, the congregation of La Chaise-Dieu elected no Abbot of notability but the Abbey’s own authoritarian role within the Livradois region grew stronger with worldly power playing a larger part. Moreover, some abbots made vigorous efforts to foster links with the abbey’s group of associated abbeys and priories but such connections were willingly disputed by the local lords or bishops. The Congregation increased in size and developed a more structured organisation with a clear designation of chapters and a definition of the role of cloistered officials.

Accueil du site > Histoire & Patrimoine > Histoire > De 1168 à 1306 : Le difficile maintien de la congrégation casadéenne

De 1168 à 1306 : Le difficile maintien de la congrégation casadéenne

par Les Amis de l’Abbatiale

À l’époque de Philippe-Auguste (1180-1223), l’Auvergne, est marquée par les rivalités entre les Capétiens auxquels l’abbaye de La Chaise-Dieu reste loyale et les Plantagenets. La France de saint Louis (1226-1270) et de Philippe le Bel (1285-1314) voit l’affermissement du pouvoir royal.

Au XIIIe siècle, l’Église est préoccupée d’une part par la querelle entre l’Empereur et le Pape et d’autre part par l’organisation des croisades. Sous le Pape Innocent III (1198-1216) apparaissent les figures de saint François d’Assise, fondateur des franciscains, et de saint Dominique de Guzman, fondateur des dominicains, qui entreprend de convertir les Albigeois, ou cathares.

à découvrir :

Quelques dépendances de La Chaise-Dieu

LavaudieuLe monastère de Lavaudieu fut créé par saint Robert lui-même pour y accueillir des moniales bénédictines et fut actif jusqu’à la Révolution.

Saint-NectaireL’église de Saint-Nectaire, construite un siècle après l’église abbatiale de saint Robert, lui serait, selon la tradition assez semblable. Elle fut dès le début desservie par des moines casadéens. Ce lien disparut au XVIe siècle [1]

BrantômeL’abbaye de Brantôme (Périgord) était une fondation carolingienne. Elle fit partie de la congrégation casadéenne de 1080 jusqu’à la fin du XVIe siècle.

FaverneyL’abbaye de Faverney, très puissante en Franche-Comté, appartint à la congrégation casadéenne de 1132 à 1613, peu après le fameux miracle de l’hostie.

FrassinoroFrassinoro fut rattaché à La Chaise-Dieu en 1107. Le but était de soustraire ce prieuré aux tentations impériales alors qu’il se situait sur une des routes reliant la plaine du Pô à la Toscane. Ce rattachement s’acheva pendant le grand schisme à la fin du XIVe siècle.

Prépondérance du temporel

Pendant cette période, la congrégation de La Chaise-Dieu n’élit aucun abbé doté d’une personnalité marquante. L’abbaye voit son rôle de seigneurie du Livradois s’accroître, le pouvoir temporel tendant à prendre une part croissante. Par ailleurs, les abbés consacrent une énergie importante à maintenir des liens avec l’ensemble des abbayes et des prieurés qui lui sont rattachés, liens volontiers contestés par les seigneurs ou les évêques locaux. La croissance de la congrégation est achevée. L’organisation de la congrégation devient plus structurée, avec une règlementation des chapitres et la définition du rôle des officiers claustraux.


Notes

[1] Pour découvrir l’église de Saint-Nectaire, voici l’émission « Églises de France » de la chaîne KTO-télévision catholique, qui lui est consacrée.